top of page
Search

Stories from boardies [Chair - Klaske]

“Womens rights were not accepted, smoking was seen as healthy and plastic was seen as one of the best inventions

Why did I join the sUsTain board?

Like many other students, I was aware of the environmental issues, but did not translate this awareness in my daily choices. But what if everyone thinks like that?


Some insights into my web of thoughts:


Thought 1: Shit I know it is a problem, but I don’t do anything about the problem myself Thought 2: Rip, but I do not have much time Thought 3: Mmm, maybe people will think I am an extremist or hipster Thought 3: What does it matter anyway, I am just one person right?

I came up with many excuses to not commit myself. Based on this, I realised that indeed the biggest threat to our planet is the belief that someone else will save it. Overtime I learned that change by one person matters a lot; think about Ghandi, Martin Luther, Gretha and more. This will take time and effort and people might get opinionated about you, but believe me, after a while, most people will respect you. Sometimes certain believes might not be that accepted yet, but womens rights were not accepted, smoking was seen as healthy and plastic was seen as one of the best inventions. What do we think of this nowadays? Unlike Thierry Baudet, I learned that you should not just say things, you need to live up to your believes.


Thought 1: Correct thought, it is still a pressing issue for which the threats are even bigger than the current corona crisis. Action is needed now, not in 30 years.

Thought 2: It is a question of making time for it. Time is limited and you need to prioritise.

Thought 3: sUstain aims to find the sweetspot between being critical and down to earth. sUstain focuses on being inspiring rather than polarising and classifing.

Thought 4: Each small change helps, history has shown us over and over


Change starts with yourself and all small steps help!

sUsTain gave me the opportunity to really put my values into action, share ideas and have discussions on sustainability. By yourself you can have some impact, but within sUsTain you can have way more.



Stop waiting, start doing

xx Klaske



Join the sUsTain board!

--> Email: sustain.utwente@gmail.com --> Tel: +316-2010-8457



158 views0 comments
bottom of page